The procedure to use to remove a Cisco Umbrella roaming client from the dashboard depends on the scenario:
- Broken State—If the Umbrella roaming client is showing as being in a broken state, an offline state, or missing from the dashboard, re-install the Umbrella roaming client using a new download of from the Umbrella dashboard. For the Windows OS, it must be uninstalled before reinstalling. This ensures that the Umbrella roaming client doesn't accidentally lose policy or interrupt the user.
- Remove Entirely—To remove the Umbrella roaming client from a computer, uninstall the Umbrella roaming client first. When uninstalled, in the Umbrella dashboard, remove the Umbrella roaming client from the list by clicking the red X. Instructions to uninstall the Umbrella roaming client are here: https://support.umbrella.com/hc/en-us/articles/230901028-Umbrella-Roaming-Client-Uninstalling
Deleting Umbrella roaming clients from the dashboard when the software is installed locally
When an Umbrella roaming client is still installed on a local machine and operating as normal, we do not recommend that you delete it from the Umbrella dashboard until after it has been removed from workstations. If you delete the Umbrella roaming client from the dashboard when that same Umbrella roaming client attempts to sync with our API it will no longer have a policy or registration to sync with.
Windows clients will automatically re-register at the next reboot of the machine or start of the service. Mac clients will do the same beginning in our next release as of May 2019.
As a result:
- Data from the Umbrella roaming client is no longer synced with our API and logging will not occur
- Internal domains list contents will continue to sync and apply. Internal domains access will be persisted and maintained.
- Roaming client device policy will no longer be applied and any destination lists or security blocks will no longer be applied; effectively, the Umbrella roaming client acts as a plain encrypted DNS forwarder to 18.104.22.168.
The Umbrella roaming client will reappear in the Umbrella dashboard with a new registration
Beginning with Windows 2.2.109 and Mac 2.1.29, roaming clients will re-register automatically when deleted from the dashboard while the service is still installed. This will occur at the next restart of the service (most commonly a device reboot). AnyConnect roaming modules currently do not re-register automatically when deleted and require a re-push of their profile data.
To verify if a machine is in a state where it was deleted from the dashboard, but before re-registration (note, verification would require the machine to be on an IP that is not registered to the dashboard), run the command:
nslookup -type=txt debug.opendns.com
In the results if the field "originid" is set to 0 is present, the Umbrella roaming client has been deleted from the dashboard (or is not in the dashboard in some other way). An example return from an Umbrella roaming client that has been deleted in the dashboard would be:
debug.opendns.com. 0 IN TXT "device 0101C3539CB8D7C8"
debug.opendns.com. 0 IN TXT "originid 0"